Supported projects

Since its foundation in 1993, it is remarkable to observe that the CQRDA has analyzed more than 1 000 research and development projects. Among those, over 830 have been accepted for funding, corresponding to a total of some 27 million $ of investment. Owing to this support, the partners associated to these projects have, on their side, injected over 150 million $.

It is worth to note that many of those projects have been great commercial successes.

Development of aluminium sheet thermoforming processes for the automobile sector

  • Leader : Verbom
  • Financial partners other than the promoter : NRC-IRAP, CQRDA
  • Research partners : NRC-ATC, Precicad, ThermoScience Enercoatings inc
  • Summary : The CAFE and Euro VI standards that are forced on car manufacturers push them to look for solutions to reduce the weight of vehicles. Aluminum is the ideal material material to achieve this, and Verbom’s thermoforming process allows designers to achieve the desired geometries through the exceptional elongations afforded by the super-plasticity of the alloys they use. To conquer this sector they had to develop different technologies allowing them to increase the mechanical properties of the produced parts, to increase the production rates and the batch size and to improve the dimensional and aesthetic quality.

Development of an aluminium city bike for self-service rental

  • Leader : Cycles Devinci
  • Financial partners other than the promoter : Michel Dallaire, industrial designer and CQRDA
  • Research partner : CNRC
  • Summary : Development of a city bike, for self-service rental, made of aluminium.

Ergonomic arm AEA-500

  • Leader : Robotics Design
  • Financial partners other than the promoter : NRC-IRAP, CQRDA
  • Research partners : Concordia University and TDE Techno
  • Summary : Development of a modular ergonomic arm fitted on a cart and circular rail for turbine maintenance.

Aluminium sleeve valve

  • Leader : Oxo Fab
  • Financial partners other than the promoter : SVA, CLD et CQRDA
  • Research partners : Paber Aluminium, Services Precicad, CPA
  • Summary : Watertight type valves are used in order to have a retention of the product circulating in the sleeve if it breaks (example transport contaminated sludge). This type of valve is extremely heavy and it is very tedious to proceed with the replacement of the sleeve. The aluminum fabrication of this valve has significantly reduced the equipment and the sash opening greatly facilitates the replacement of the sleeve in addition to significantly reducing the time of this operation.

Projets supportés

Depuis sa fondation en 1993, il est remarquable de constater que le CQRDA a analysé plus de 1 000 projets de recherche et développement. De ce nombre, plus de 830 ont obtenu un soutien financier du CQRDA, totalisant quelque 27 millions $ d’investissements. Grâce à cet appui, les partenaires associés à ces projets ont, pour leur part, injecté plus de 150 millions $.

À noter que plusieurs projets ont fait l’objet de réussites commerciales notables.

Développement des technologies du thermoformage de feuille d’aluminium pour le secteur automobile

  • Leader : Verbom
  • Partenaires financiers autres que le promoteur : CNRC-PARI, CQRDA
  • Partenaires de recherche : CTA-CNRC, Précicad, ThermoScience Enercoatings inc
  • Résumé : Les normes CAFE et Euro VI auxquelles sont contraints les fabricants automobile poussent ceux-ci à rechercher des solutions permettant la réduction du poids des véhicules. L’aluminium est le matériau idéal pour y parvenir et le procédé de thermoformage de Verbom permet aux designers d’obtenir les géométries désirées de par les élongations exceptionnelles permises par la super-plasticité des alliages qu’ils utilisent. Pour conquérir ce secteur ils devaient développer différentes technologies leur permettant d’augmenter les propriétés mécaniques des pièces produites, d’augmenter les cadences de production et la taille des lots et d’améliorer la qualité dimensionnelle et esthétique.

Développement d’un vélo de ville d’aluminium en location libre-service

  • Leader : Cycles Devinci
  • Partenaires financiers autres que le promoteur : Michel Dallaire designer industriel et CQRDA
  • Partenaires de recherche : CNRC
  • Résumé : Développement d’un vélo de ville de location libre-service fabriqué d’aluminium.

Bras ergonomique AEA-500

  • Leader : Robotics Design
  • Partenaires financiers autres que le promoteur : CNRC-PARI et CQRDA
  • Partenaires de recherche : Université Concordia et TDE Techno
  • Résumé : Développement d’un bras ergonomique modulaire monté sur chariot et rail circulaire pour l’entretien de turbine.

Valve à manchon en aluminium

  • Leader : Oxo Fab
  • Partenaires financiers autres que le promoteur : SVA, CLD et CQRDA
  • Partenaires de recherche : Paber Aluminium, Services Precicad, CPA
  • Résumé : Les valves de type à bâti étanche sont utilisées dans le but d’avoir une rétention du produit circulant dans le manchon si celui-ci se brisait (exemple transport de boue contaminée). Ce type de valve est extrêmement lourd et il est très fastidieux de procéder au remplacement du manchon. La fabrication en aluminium de cette valve a permis d’alléger considérablement l’équipement et l’ouverture à guillotine facilite grandement le remplacement du manchon en plus de réduire de façon signification le temps de cette opération.